Texas Marijuana Employer Guidelines“Recreational vs. personal” use of marijuana: We recognize that a majority of the country uses the term “recreational use” when referring to states that have legalized possession and use of limited amounts of marijuana for those over 21.
Texas personal and medical use of marijuana.
Medical Use: Gov. Greg Abbott signed the Texas Compassionate Use Act on June 1, 2015. The Act requires the creation of a secure registry of doctors that are authorized to prescribe low-THC cannabis to patients suffering from intractable epilepsy. As of September 2021, the Compassionate Use Act expanded to cover all forms of cancer and patients with post-traumatic stress disorder. The new maximum amount of THC available in medicinal cannabis products will increase from 0.5 percent to 1 percent. This may cause an increase in positive drug tests for employees in Texas.
Personal Use: Texas does not currently have a personal marijuana use law.
For more information regarding marijuana at work, refer to Info Cubic’s Drug Screening compliance corner.